Hogg Hill Race 7

Redbridge Cycling Centre

Hogg Hill Race 7

The final – Thursday League

Roughly 35 riders showed up on a balmy summers evening. Once again, Tony split us into two groups (DEFGH and ABC) for this Handicap race.

Our 25 man DEFG group set off a minute ahead of ten forty somethings in the ABC group. We rode the standard flap loop.

Initially the pace was good and I found myself up front at the start following the wheel of P. James (Crawley Wheelers). As the laps ticked away others also took stints to pull us or create moves. From my armchair at the back of the bunch I could see Long Steady Days (S.James), Andrew Buurman and the MK Don himself James Stewart all toiling away at various points . Hmmm

Meanwhile in the ABC behind…

Wallis was at his imperious best and just like the old days went from the gun with Holmes as his partner in crime. The two made light work of the gap and within 5 or 6 we could see them coming in our wing mirrors.

By the 15 minute mark we were eating their dust. If our bunch engines made attempts to engage they they were feeble at best 😬

The handicapping has been brilliant in this series and we haven’t been caught till the 2nd half of the race on occasions.

So on paper this shouldn’t have been such an easy catch for the youngsters … but us 50+ guys seemed content to plod around at a pretty comfortable 25mph av

Inevitably of course the rest of the ABC group also came across and we essentially remained groupo compacto until the final few laps

Then 3 men – Matt Steels, Aaron Green and Paul James – fired themselves up the road and stayed away to take pos 3,4 & 5

Matt Holmes 🥇 out sprinted Antony Wallis 🥈 to take the W.

Jose Soler took the bunch sprint and Julian Cunnington Niles was the best of the 60+ guys.

Once again on behalf of all the racers big thanks to Tony Meader and Debbie for putting on this great race series 👏

Race PositionNameClubCatCat Pos
1matt holmesArctic-Aircon RTB1
2Antony WallisRegents park RoulersC1
3Matt SteelPronto BikesB2
4Aaron Green shaftsburyA1
5Paul JamesCrawley WheelersE1
6Jose SolerCinnamon cafe SDRTD1
7Andrew BuurmanRapha CCD2
8Paul TurnerArctic Aircon RTD3
9David FarrowEagle Road club D4
10Cliff SteeleBrixton CCD5
11Duncan RimmerMorden CRCB3
12Neil DowieTeam TerminatorD6
13Simon Carter4T+ velo clubC2
14Steve SmithRedbridge CCF1
15Steve FosterTeam Aerocycles D7
16Steve NoelParadigm CyclesD8
17Julian Niles-CunningtonBlack Cyclists NetworkE2
18James StewartQN RacingE3
19Chris DunnAPI Anglia SportF2
20Stephen PiperVelo Schils Interbike RTE4
21Jonathan DonaldLondon DynamoD9
22Steven Wade-JonesBishops Stortford CCF3
23Duncan ThomasAerocycles E5
24Julian BoulterEagle RCD10
25Toks AdesanyaAddiscombe CCD11
26Damien Foy6am cycling clubD12
27stephen simpsonLSD RT E6
28Adrian WardTeam Terminator E7
29Gregory SmithFinsbury Park CCB4
30Greg NeedhamLea Valley CCC3
31Trevor GannonTempo SportE8
32Mark PorterLea Valley CCC4
33Simon ConstableBasildon CCB5
DNFTim SimpkinsHarlow CCBDNF
DNFRichard BarnesBritish Masters CyclingDDNF