The weather gods saved the best weather for the last event of the season! Bright sunshine but with a strong westerly wind. The sunshine and wind also produced the most attacking race of the series. 32 riders took the start line with the 8 EFGH riders having a half lap lead. It looked like the older group would take the first prime but they were caught on the line with Paul Spicely taking the prize. Within a lap a strong group comprising Spicely, Craig Nicholls, Ross Courtnell, Matt Holmes, and Paul Miller had moved clear of the bunch. Courtnell unfortunately punctured but rejoined after taking 2 laps out to change a tube. At the second prime taken by Matt Holmes the bunch was beginning to split up with Matt Steel, Mark Cain, Murat Ozdenya, David Farrow, Aaron Green and Paul Davies moving clear. However they made little impression on the leading group. With 3 laps to go the leaders were starting to break up with Nicholls and Holmes attempting to stay clear but they were all together at the bell as the leaders lapped the bunch. On the line Nicholls took the win from Courtnell and Holmes. The chasing group was led home by Matt Steel and the bunch by Marco Coppola. Although Courtnell was originally given 2nd after further deliberations the judges agreed that he be relegated to last of the leading group due to him taking laps out due to a mechanical.

Overall, provisionally, in Cat A Aaron Green wins with 8 points from Lukasz Galka and Craig Nicholls both on 4; in Cat B Matt Holmes wins with 14 points from Ross Courtnell on 8, Matt Steel on 5 and Duncan Rimmer on 4; Paul Spicely takes Cat C with 10 points from Marco Coppolo and Murat Ozdenya both on 8 points; in Cat D Keith Walker wins with 11 points from David Farrow on 10 and Jason Fitchew, and Paul Turner on 4; in Cat E  Stephen Piper wins with 18 points from Martin Meades with 8 and Duncan Thomas with 4; Steven Wade-Jones wins Cat F with a maximum 20 points from Trevor Gannon with 8 points and Reg Smith with Cat H with 4 points. The full overall result will be published once double-checked.

RaceRace PosNameClubCatCat PosSeries Points
All1Craig NichollsAthlonA14
2matt holmesArctic Aircon RTB14
3Paul SpiceleyColourtech RTC14
4Paul MillerATHLON CC A22
5Ross CourtnellEssex Roads CCB22
6Matt SteelPronto Bikes RTB31
7Mark CainAbellio SFA Racing TeamB4
8Murat OzdenyaTeam Vision Racing Silver HookC22
9David FarrowEagle Road ClubD14
10Aaron Green Shaftesbury ccA31
11paul Davies Velo Schils Interbike RTB5
12Tomasz ChmielewskiFinchley RTC31
13Keith WalkerWigmore CCD22
14Kevin AttreedGlendene CCA4
15Graham RuddAPI-AngliasportB6
16Marco CoppolaColourtech RTC4
17Stephen PiperVelo Schils Interbike RTE14
18Adrian WardTeam Terminator E22
19Neil DowieAPI Anglia SportD31
20Julian BoulterEagle Road ClubD4
21Joe HortonEast Grinstead Cycling Club B7
22Duncan RimmerMorden CRCB8
23Steven Wade-JonesBishops Stortford CCF14
24Duncan ThomasTeam AerocyclesE31
25martin meadesciclos unoE4
26Lukasz GalkaFinchley RTA5
27Simon ConstableBasildon CCB9
28David CroweColour-Tech RTE5
30Reg SmithTemporary Memb erH14

If you spot any errors in placing, or if you are wrongly identified, please e-mail Incorrect formatting, capitalisation of names etc. is normally a result of the data on RiderHQ. If you correct it there, it should feed through to future results.