Tour of the Abberleys

A brief history of an excellent event. A premier event on the BMCR racing calendar. Definitely one not to be missed!

Tour of the Abberleys


A flagship BMCR event

The race was started under the LVRC in 1998 by cyclist and well-known Midlands comedian Chris Singleton. The first edition of the race was called the Black Country Wheelers 3 Day, but for the second edition the name Tour of the Abberleys was adopted.

As it quickly became established as the longest, and one of the toughest, events on the LVRC calendar, Chris drew on additional support from LVRC Region 6, while Bush Healthcare and Fabricolour were early sponsors. In about 2002 sponsors Real Cost Cars and Reliant Windows provided the huge trophies which are still presented to the winners in each race.

For a year or two when the Milk Race had finished and the BCF was in crisis it was the longest stage race in the UK. Riders from the early days may remember a youngster by the name of Dan Martin wandering around the HQ and riding round the circuit while his dad raced. In 2002 a team from Holland entered and it briefly became an international race.

Ramin Minovi, whose memorial race is now incorporated as the third stage, took over the organisation in 2004 with Colin Willets and Colin Dooley, then Stuart Hall in 2008, before the current organiser Mike Amery took it on in 2011.

In 2006 a Prologue time trial was added to make it a 4-stage race, and in 2015 a King of the Mountains competition. All the road stages use hilly circuits, with the final stage often incorporating some of the toughest local climbs. Since 2018 the road stages have been supported by motorbike marshals. It now attracts Masters riders from all over the country, with entries heavily over-subscribed.

There are 3 competitions: the over-40s race, the over-50s race, and the over-60s race. It is normally run on the first bank holiday week-end in May.

2018 winners


YearA/B RaceC+ RaceOver 60s
1998Garnett SmithMick IvesJack Watson
1999Nick YarworthDave HargreavesRay Minovi
2000Neil MartinRoger IddlesRay Minovi
2001Neil MartinDave McCullenRay Minovi
2002Neil MartinPhil CookeTony Woodcock
2003Paul StubbsEddie AdkinsTony Woodcock
2004Russell HarringtonPeter HalliwellJack Watson
2005Phil MasonPeter GreenwoodRoger Iddles
2006Phil MasonJoey WilliamsRoger Iddles
2007Simon KeetonPhil AxeRoger Iddles
2008? Phil Mason?Dave Rutherford
2009Andy DonaldsonDave McMullenAlan Kemp
2010Peter GeorgiAlan KempAlan Kemp
2011Tim CarterPaul StubbsAlan Kemp
2012Jason MeyerCs: Roy Holmes D+: Andy DonaldsonAlan Kemp
2013Wayne CoombsMark WestwoodAlan Kemp
2014Shaun TysonMark WestwoodAndrew Simpkins
2015Jeremy HonorKarl MoseleySteve Jolley
2016Craig BattersbyRich EdwardsJohn French
2017Craig BattersbyRich EdwardsJim Moffat
2018Stephen FeeneyAndrew DumbillRob O’Connor
2019Dave GriffithsRussell HarringtonRichard McKellar
2021Richard ButlerKarl SmithRob O’Connor
2022Ian HopeJeremy HonorIain Turnbull
2023Dave GriffithsKarl SmithCharles Zanettacci


YearA/B RaceC/D RaceOver 60s
2015Martin SmithGraham Payne
2016Martin SmithRich EdwardsSteve Jolley
2017Craig BattersbySean KilroyMalcolm Whitehead
2018John RussellAndrew DumbillAndrew Donaldson
2019Dave GriffithsRussell HarringtonRichard McKellar
2021Dave GriffithsJohn WatsonMartin Tolley
2022Nick Morgan/Richard ButlerShaun TysonJohn Galway
2023Nick MorganRay BellCharles Zanettacci